RSS

Review and Interview of Consequences By Aleatha Romig

01 Mar

Consequences

Review and Interview of Consequences

 

Review

Consequences (Consequences #1) by Aleatha Romig

Genre: Thriller, Suspense, Mystery, Romance, Erotica.

Length:  526 Pages

Synopsis: Claire Nichols wakes up in a strange bed in a house she has never been to and not sure how she got there.  The only things she does know is that the man keeping her captive, Anthony Rawlings,  is the tall, handsome, and wealthy man who she just met at the bar she works at.   Was Claire just at the wrong place at the wrong time?  Was she just the object of lust by a wealthy man who is use to taking whatever he wants?

What Claire does not know is that her captor has been following her for a long time and has been manipulating many of the pivotal moments in her life.  What Anthony does not know is the he will become captivated by the beautiful and kind Claire.  What they both will learn is that actions have consequences.

When I first finished this book, I had a wide range of emotions… terror, sadness, happiness, lust and then sadness again.  My emotions were literally all over the place.  How I felt about Anthony depended on what page I was reading.  How could I hate this man, be attracted to him and love him all in the same book?  I was on an emotional roller-coaster, but one that wanted to go back on once the ride was over!!!

Certain scenes were raw, gritty, dark and disturbing.  It was an emotional read that stuck with me for days.

There is a mystery of sorts that will be pieced together with flashbacks every few chapters.  At first, these flashbacks were frustrating, but I am glad I did not skip through them.

I did not expect this book to capture me as much as it did. I made the mistake of reading Consequences the week of Thanksgiving, which I was hosting.  I was reading and cooking. Thank god that turkey came out good.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars. (I love these stories and this one did not disappoint.)

  • Did I skim? No
  • Do I recommend? Yes
  • Did I feel connected to the characters? Yes. I was emotionally attached to the characters.
  • Will I reread? Already have.
  • Did I look forward to the sequel when I was done? Yes.  
  • Ending/Cliffhanger: “OMG”

Author Interview (Part I)

Aleatha-Pic

Let me first start by saying how happy I am that you agreed to do this interview, Aleatha.  Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day.

Christine, thank you for inviting me!

How did you come up with idea for Consequences?

The opening scene of Consequences came to me.  I’m not sure if it was a dream or a thought… but I imagined it. The more I thought about it, I wanted to know what was happening. I sat down and started to write…to find out.

I am always curious about this, how did you come to give your main characters their names?

That is a great question. I don’t know.  I’ve always liked the name Claire.  But Anthony? I think I wanted something that could sound distinguished and also casual… Anthony / Tony.  This sounds silly, but his last name came from a ball in my garage- “Rawlings”.  Kind of like the “Wilson” in Castaway.

The quotes you have before each chapter, did you write them before or after you wrote the chapter?

Mostly after, I looked for quotes that reflected the mood or essence of the chapter.

If the Consequences series were to be made into a movie, who would you like to play Tony? Claire? Catherine?

Tony was always Joe Magellano in my mind.  But lately Jon Hamm and David Gandy have been suggested. I think they would work too.  For Claire, I like Natalie Portman or Olivia Wilde.  I honestly haven’t given Catherine much thought.

When did you know you wanted to become a writer?

Writing was always a dream and a passion.  I don’t think I ever thought I could do it.

When is your favorite time of day to write?

Late at night or very early in the morning, when the house is quiet.

What is your favorite quote and/or scene from Consequences?

That is very hard. I like it all.  I love many quotes. One that comes to mind right now is:  “He spoke again as if he hadn’t just shattered his promise and her security.  Her house of glass now lay in a pile of shards.” … kind of sad.

I am always curious about this, how did you come to give your main characters their names?

That is a great question. I don’t know.  I’ve always liked the name Claire.  But Anthony? I think I wanted something that could sound distinguished and also casual… Anthony / Tony.  This sounds silly, but his last name came from a ball in my garage- “Rawlings”.  Kind of like the “Wilson” in Castaway.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging when you write?

Time, balance, organization! I want about 10 more hours in each day.  Yet, I’m not sure I’d use them properly… I need more discipline.

What type of reactions did you get from readers after Consequences was published?

Mixed, some people loved it, others hated it. I enjoy evoking emotion and I think I do.  Now that Truth is also out, the responses are more positive. It helps that people can see the transformation in the characters.

Is there something in particular you like to eat and/or drink when you write? (I am sorry, I love to eat.)

Everyone knows I like my wine. But, when I’m really into writing I don’t eat or drink much of anything.  I’ve lost one laptop and had another very close miss with stemware.  So when I do drink, anything,  I use stemless glasses!

I have heard repeatedly that many readers felt that what Claire was experiencing with her feelings for Anthony was Stockholm Syndrome.  Do you agree?

In Consequences, most definitely.

I was recently asked on Twitter who my favorite villain is. I love when people ask me unexpected questions.  So I ask you, who is your favorite villain?

I would have to say Dexter.  Or is he an anti-hero?  I’m not sure, but I like him!

Series Reading Order:

Consequences (Consequences #1)

Truth (Consequences #2)

Convicted (Consequences #3)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2013 in Erotica, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Review and Interview of Consequences By Aleatha Romig

  1. SheReadsAlot.com

    March 4, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    Reblogged this on Christine's Blog and commented:

    Awesome Giveaway!!!

     
  2. Zandy Ring

    March 6, 2013 at 8:59 pm

    Test comment

     
    • SheReadsAlot.com

      March 6, 2013 at 9:51 pm

      Are you having problems with your comments? I was not sure if I understood your question.

       

Leave a Reply

 
