RSS

Review of The Gamble By Kristen Ashley

30 Jan

The Gamble (Colorado Mountain #1) by Kristen Ashley

The Gamble

4 out of 5 Stars

Published:  April 2011

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Fiction, Suspense, Mystery, Erotica

Length: 555 pages

Nina Sheridan’s takes a timeout from her clueless, cold fiancé and heads to Gnaw Bone, Colorado.  When she arrives to the A-Frame that she rents for 2 weeks, she meets Max, the owner. Max tells her there was a mistake and kicks her out of the house.  With nowhere to go, she goes back out in the snowstorm, gets stuck in the ditch only to  wake up in the morning in Max’s bed sick with the flu.  Max ends up taking care of Nina something her “safe, but uncaring fiancé would never do.  Nina ends up staying in Max’s house and meeting all the interesting people of Gnaw Bone. The first week, Nina is in Gnaw Bone, a murder occurs to the most hated man in town.

I have to say, Kristen Ashley is one of my top 5 favorite authors. I really liked this book and recommend it.  Whenever I read a few bland books, I know I can pick up a Kristen Ashley book and enjoy a good read.  The Gamble was a GREAT read!

I do like a little drama when it is in an erotica romance and this drama was just enough for me. It had me in tears and I loved it.  I love when there is enough angst to cause my heart to ache a little.

The Gamble was steamy and sexy.  Also, I liked that the sex did not happen on day #1.  Sometimes, the anticipation is worth it.  It makes it hotter.

Did I skim?  No.  After I finished the book, I went back and reread my favorite parts.

Did I feel connected to the characters? YES.

Will I reread? Yes

Did I think about the book after I was finished? Yes

Do I recommend? YES

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Sequels: Sweet Dreams (Colorado Mountain #2) Published: April 2011

Lady Luck (Colorado Mountain #3) Published: October 2011

Breathe (Colorado Mountain #4) Published: July 2012

Colorado Mountain (Colorado Mountain #5) Expected Publication: 2013

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
