RSS

Review of Exposed (Just One Night #2) By Kyra Davis

23 Jan

Exposed

4 out of 5 Stars

Exposed (Just One Night #2)

By: Kyra Davis

Expected Publication: March 18, 2013

Genre: Erotica, Contemporary Romance

Length: 128 pages

The second book in the series took a turn as to how I look at the characters.   Certain things occurred that made me look at the characters differently.  Not sure if these behaviors were written in so that the cliffhanger would occur the way it did.

Plot:  One passionate night with a stranger turned Kasie’s world upside down and just when she thought she was getting the hang of things, her fiancé finds out.
You should sleep with a stranger —those words whispered in her ear by her best friend became a challenge Kasie took to heart. Suddenly, the man who gave her the most shocking pleasure in that upscale Vegas hotel —a man whose name she never bothered to find out —is her company’s biggest client. 
As this unknown man becomes Mr. Dade at the office, and Mr. Dade becomes Robert in the bedroom, Kasie’s passion won’t let her deny him anything he wants. But when her fiancé, Dave, finds out, there’s no telling what he will do to keep her, or what Robert will do to steal her away once and for all.

Nonetheless, “Exposed” had my attention.  I read it in one sitting, anticipating the whole time what was going to happen next.

“Exposed” continues where The Stranger left off.  Dave knows of Kasie’s affair with Robert.  Anger and resentment play a factor when the infidelity is discovered. Kasie has to make tough decisions in her life and those decisions can affect her family and career.

I enjoyed the book. I was not disappointment in the writing.  My only concern is that certain characters’ behaviors changed.  I loved the dynamic of all the characters (good and bad) in the first book, but know I am worried about what direction book #3 will go. Saying that, I ask, isn’t that what the main objective or job of an author is…to throw the reader off so that they want to continue reading???

This series is a novella.  Many readers are turned off when they see that a series consists of 3 short (125 or less) books.  However, this author does an amazing job of getting the reader immediately involved in the main character’s story.  You are immediately attached.  Don’t let the fact that these are three small books turn you off from reading this series.  I usually call novella “teasers”, where as the short gets interesting, the author ends the book making you wait “pant.”  Sorry, I had to throw that in there. : )  However, in this series, so far, there is enough that happens in each book that I felt fulfilled just as I would  if they were 2 full length (200+ pages) books.

Did I skim? No

Do I recommend? Yes.  I think this is a great series.

Did I feel connected to the characters? Yes

Ending/Cliffhanger? It was good cliffhanger. I kind of expected it to go that way, so it was not a shocker.  However, I was not disappointed.

Am I looking forward to the sequel? Yes

Sequels: The Stranger (Just One Night #1) – Published: January 2013

Binding Agreement (Just One Night #2) – Expected Publication: May 20, 2013

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
