RSS

Review of Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2) By Katie McGarry

21 Jan

DareYouTo

4 out of 5 Stars

Dare You To

By Katie McGarry

Expected Publication: May 28, 2013

I really enjoyed Pushing the Limits and was not disappointed with the sequel, Dare You To.

Plot: If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth to who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her Uncle Scott swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her.  Except for the one guy, Ryan Stone, who shouldn’t get her, but does.

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest dare???  Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams and his life for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all.

The dual POVs help the reader connected to both characters. I was not sure how I felt about Beth in Pushing the Limits, with her attitude of “no one has it as bad as I do.” I usually love bad girls, but at some point the way you treat people who have been nothing but kind to you, needs to stop and gets old.

In Dare You To, you see another side of Beth. How she does everything in her power to protect her mother. How she feels not worthy of good things. How she is not worthy of certain love.   Very touching story.  Some parts were hard for me to read.  However, the author does such a fantastic job. Katie McGarry you are a GREAT writer.

Echo and Noah have cameos and you could not have Beth’s story without having Isaiah in Dare You To.

There is also something that we learn about hot, sexy, cocky ball player Ryan that I found refreshing in this YA book.  I am very impressed with Katie McGarry for writing that in this wonderful book.

Did I skim? No

Did I feel connected to the characters? Yes. In this book, I loved the dual POVs.

Did I think about the book after I finished it? Yes.  I thought how about how many times Beth was let down by her mom, but yet wanted to protect her.  What would I do in that situation?

Did I want to keep reading after I was done? Yes, I wanted to know what happened to them. I hope their story continues in another sequel.

Sequels: Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits #1) – Published: July 31, 2012

Crossing the Line (Pushing the Limits #1.5)- Expected Publication: April 1, 2013

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Contemporary Romance, Series, YA

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
